Achievements ; I was elected to Dáil Éireann in February 2016 to represent the people of Galway East.

In May 2016 I was appointed to serve as Minister of State for OPW and Flood Relief.

I was elected an Independent member of Galway County Council in 2004 and re-elected in 2009 and 2014.

I have held various positions during my time on Galway County Council, including Mayor of County Galway (2007-2008), Chairman of County Development Board (2008-2009), Chairman of Roads & Transportation SPC (2008-2009), delegate to the Association of County & City Councils (2004-2009).