Four Galway East projects are to receive €100,000 each for major renewal schemes.
The projects that have been awarded grants under the Town and Village Renewal Scheme are for Corofin, Craughwell, Killimor and Ballyglunin.
Galway East TD and Minister for Rural Affairs Seán Canney said: “As Minister for Rural Affairs, I am delighted to announce these grants from my Department.
“The projects will greatly enhance these local areas.The Corofin project is to install a pedestrian crossing, new footpaths, paving and street furniture. Lighting will also be improved.
“Craughwell will receive funding to extend the footpath from the community centre to the National School and sports and recreation facilities.
“At Killimor, footpaths in four areas of the village are to be upgraded and extended to improve safety and access, while at Ballyglunin, the project aims to develop the railway station as a world class tourist attraction.
“The station aims to retell the history of the railways, film and emigration in the region.
“The Town and Village Renewal Scheme is one of the many funding schemes available from the Department of Rural and Community Development.
“It is vital that we support Rural Ireland in this way and I will continue to advocate on behalf of Galway East in identifying opportunities to improve and enhance our local communities.”

For more information, contact Minister Canney on 086-2513639
October 31 2019