Thirty six sports clubs and community associations in Galway East are to receive a total of €1,448,253 in Sports Capital Grants.
Galway East TD and Minister for Rural Affairs Seán Canney said: “I very much welcome these important allocations.
“They are a lifeline to so many clubs who are striving to maintain and improve their facilities.
“A lot of voluntary work goes into the clubs and it is only fitting that the State steps in to support them in this way.”
“I want to congratulate all the clubs on their applications and acknowledge the work that so many people put in to keep these organisations running for the benefit of their communities.”
The clubs receiving awards are:
Abbeyknockmoy Hurling Club €58,350
Ballinderreen GAA Club €72,206
Beagh Hurling and GAA Club €62,726
Bullaun Sports Field €25,033
Claregalway GAA Club €58,350
Colemanstown FC €40.060
Colga FC €54,935
Corofin GAA Club €81,690
Corrib Celtic FC €52,806
Cortoon Shamrocks €19,465
Craughwell GAA €36,753
Fr Sammon Community Centre, Monivea €50,416
Gort GAA Club €64,185
Gort Community Council €52,515
Gort Golf Club €24,507
Kilbeacanty GAA €40,359
Kilkerrin €8,436
Killererin Development Company €18,439
Killimor GAA Club €40,490
Kilnadeema Leitrim GAA Club €65,973
Kiltullagh Community Development Group €68,561
Kinvara GAA €2,757
Kinvara Hockey Club €3,662
Kinvara United €5,398
Leitrim Community Field €15,792
Loughrea Athletic Club €23,626
Mercy Convent Tuam €61,710
Moyne Villa FC Headford €38,955
Mullagh GAA €38,939
New Inn Community Council €70,750
Padraic Pearse’s €69,759
Portumna Lawn Tennis Club €6,109
Portumna Town FC €7,290
Tuam Celtic €8,325
Tuam Stars GAA Club €25,780
Turloughmore Hurling Club €72,966
Minister Canney added: “Any club that was not successful in the current funding round has the option of appealing the decision.”

For more information, contact Minister Canney on 086-2513639
November 15 2019